Impact Music IV – Dream Theater: Beyond Portnoy, Part II

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can  apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

Yo! So guys, continuing on with my stuff for the #TataZica marathon for bloggers, I’ve got another one in my Dream Theater educational brochure for you.

So, if you haven’t been living under a couple of thousand rocks under the sea (or something else vaguely literary like that) and (crucially) been reading this here blog by yours truly, you’d know that I’ve been going on about this band called Dream Theater, who just happen to be the progressive metal band.

So, from where we left them last, I’d noted that there will two pretty big issues that I’d skated over in the interests of depth. But I think there’s a great deal of merit in living for depth, rather than distance. And also of course, as I keep harping on about it, this is a wondrous, magical and amazing time where we can do so many wonderful things with the help of all the varied, multitude of conveniences that technology has to offer us, but unfortunately most of spend time complaining about the minor gripes that these wonders entail, rather than love them for the veritable miracles that they truly are. And some of us go on and on and on and complain about complainers. Well, human nature. Meh.

“Anyhoo”, what I’m getting at is, we can get both distance and depth now, without much effort. So well, that’s what I try to do, am trying to do and will continue to do so. And immediately it’s going to be with this continuing saga, if you will, about Dream Theater, the progressive rock band which, by now, I am sure we all here know and love well.

So yeah, I’d left out two things back there, as I mentioned earlier. One, or rather the first of them was the sensational, controversial and almost completely unexpected departure of founding member and creative force Mike Portnoy. As to the second, well, in the interests of maintaining what little readership I do have, I’ll keep that under wraps for now. If you want to know about that, stay tuned for the next article. Or keep better track of all the stuff I spout. You know, tryin’ to the mystery alive and stuff. Yeah! Mystery! Woo-hoo!

So yeah, about Mr. Mike Portnoy. Just what was the deal? Just why, why why why, did he leave what was essentially his (brain)child? Well, it was a bit of both leave and got thrown out, to be completely honest. You see, the thing was, he wanted a break to go out and metaphorically jump into bed with a younger crowd for a bit. That younger crowd being A7X and “for a bit being” 5 years.

So of course Petrucci and the bros were like, “For real, dude?” and “No way!”.

And the rest as they say, is history.

Stay tuned.

Leave a comment